code masthead 3

AIA logo

Free AIA Webinar   

Train with a code expert who sat on the ICC's committee to revise the Chapter 7 tables in the 2012 IBC.  Earn an AIA continuing education credit while reviewing the 2012 IBC and learning ways to select the correct fire rated glass product.  


Schedule a webinar...   


Issue 6 - July 2012 


New IBC Marking System for
Fire Rated Glazing Assemblies





Welcome to "Code Considerations Quarterly," a publication by SAFTI FIRST designed to help architects and specifiers select the correct fire rated glazing and framing applications based on the most current code and testing requirements.  


This issue focuses on the new, fire rated glazing marking system contained in Chapter 7 tables of the 2012 IBC. Letters are used instead of test standards to indicate the performance standard that the glazing product meets. The new tables clarify the 2006 and 2009 editions of the IBC. So, even though the new tables may not be adopted locally right away, they are useful today for understanding IBC requirements for fire rated glass.


Feel free to email us if you have a code question you'd like addressed. 

Thank you, 





SAFTIFIRST has created a new video explaining the difference between fire protective and fire resistive glazing products. 




Free FRG App
iphone app
Confused about fire rated glass?

Here's an app for that.
2012 IBC Table 716.3 -
Marking Fire Rated Glazing Assemblies

It's about to get a lot easier to use the right glazing product in the right application, thanks to new and revised tables in the 2012 IBC. Specifically,  Table 716.3 "Marking Fire Rated Glazing Assemblies," provides architects, specifiers, installers, plan reviewers, and building officials with an easy reference that shows which performance standard(s) a product meets along with its duration rating.   Read more...


Letters replace test standards


Prior to the 2006 IBC, fire rated glass was required to have labels showing the testing agency, the test standard and the test duration. Under the new marking system, the test standard is replaced with letters that refer to the performance standard a glazing product meets. The testing agency and test duration remain.
  • "W" means that the glazing has been tested to the fire wall test standard (ASTM E119/NFPA 251/UL 263) and is fire resistive.
  • "D" means the product has been tested to the fire door test standard (NFPA 252)
  • "H" means the product passes the hose stream procedure.
  • "T" means the glazing meets the temperature rise limits required for temperature rise doors used in exit enclosures and passageways.
  • "OH" means the glazing has been tested to the fire window test standard (NFPA 257) and meets both the fire endurance and hose stream requirements of the test standard.  

What about fire rated glass products that meet multiple standards?   

Click here to read the full article, complete with project photos and examples.